Leads can lock or unlock Rosters depending on whether they want to prioritize data quality or convenience. Rosters are initially unlocked.
With a Locked Roster, participants can only access the survey if they have already been added to the Roster. This ensures each participant is identified correctly every time they submit a survey, but it requires pre-populating the Roster before participants can take the survey.
With an Unlocked Roster, participants can add themselves to the Roster when they access the survey for a Class/Group. This means the Roster does not have to be pre-populated or complete, but unlocked rosters can reduce data quality, for example:
If a participant accidentally uses different identifiers to access the survey (e.g., they mistype their email, use different email addresses, or use an email once and an ID number a different time), they will be treated as multiple participants. This will skew data and make it harder to detect meaningful changes.
Until all participants are added to a Roster, participation percentages may appear higher.
When Rosters are unlocked, ensure participants use a consistent identifier to access the survey, e.g., only their school email. Reinforce this message by selecting the appropriate Sign-On Type and enabling a Sign-On Rule.
Select a Sign-On Type and enable a Sign-On Rule to make sure participants use an appropriate identifier.
Lock Rosters once your Roster has stabilized, e.g., after your schedule adjustment period or add/drop deadline. This will reduce the likelihood that participants accidentally use the wrong identifier.
Review Rosters and adjust them as needed. For example, you may remove participants who are no longer enrolled or correct any typos.
How do I lock/unlock a Roster(s)?
Community Leads or Class Leads can lock/unlock Rosters.
From the Classes tab, select the Class you would like to edit by clicking the box next to the Class name
To lock the Roster(s), toggle the Locked button from an X to ✓. The lock icon next to the Class name will appear locked
To unlock the Roster(s), toggle the Locked button from an ✓ to X. The lock icon next to the Class name will appear unlocked